Date: 13th June 2018 at 6:30am
Written by:

With the announcement of the EFL Cup Round One Draw this coming Friday in Vietnam, our all-important ball number has been confirmed.

The draw takes place on Friday, June 15 and for anyone who paid attention to last year’s draws, I’d take 10.45pm UK time with a pinch of salt as we could be facing Colchester United at Villa Park or Barcelona at the Nou Camp.

For full Round 1 draw details, click the below.

Aston Villa Fans Fear Not – We Finally Have Some Actual Football News – League Cup Rd 1

Suffice to say, Aston Villa have been given the Number 2 ball for the draw at this stage of the competition and God willing we’ll see Round 2 – we may need the cash flow unless planning at the club significantly improves in the interim weeks.

Ball Number 2 does carry weight for us though, back in bygone years when we weren’t seemingly mismanaged we used to take that ball second to Arsenal on many occasions. This season in the South Section we play second fiddle to AFC Wimbledon, but still and despite our troubles, stay ahead of Birmingham City. They just can’t get a break can they!

North Section:

1 Accrington Stanley
2 Barnsley
3 Blackburn Rovers
4 Blackpool
5 Bolton Wanderers
6 Bradford City
7 Burton Albion
8 Bury
9 Carlisle United
10 Crewe Alexandra
11 Derby County
12 Doncaster Rovers
13 Fleetwood Town
14 Grimsby Town
15 Hull City
16 Leeds United
17 Lincoln City
18 Macclesfield Town
19 Mansfield Town
20 Middlesbrough
21 Morecambe
22 Nottingham Forest
23 Notts County
24 Oldham Athletic
25 Port Vale
26 Preston North End
27 Rochdale
28 Rotherham United
29 Scunthorpe United
30 Sheffield United
31 Sheffield Wednesday
32 Shrewsbury Town
33 Sunderland
34 Tranmere Rovers
35 Walsall
36 Wigan Athletic

South Section:

1 AFC Wimbledon
2 Aston Villa
3 Birmingham City
4 Brentford
5 Bristol City
6 Bristol Rovers
7 Cambridge United
8 Charlton Athletic
9 Cheltenham Town
10 Colchester United
11 Coventry City
12 Crawley Town
13 Exeter City
14 Forest Green Rovers
15 Gillingham
16 Ipswich Town
17 Luton Town
18 Millwall
19 MK Dons
20 Newport County
21 Northampton Town
22 Norwich City
23 Oxford United
24 Peterborough United
25 Plymouth Argyle
26 Portsmouth
27 Queens Park Rangers
28 Reading
29 Southend United
30 Stevenage
31 Swindon Town
32 West Bromwich Albion
33 Wycombe Wanderers
34 Yeovil Town

Click for the forum