Villa News

Villa Confirm Shirt Numbers Ahead Of Watford Kick Off – Space For At Least One New Addition

Image for Villa Confirm Shirt Numbers Ahead Of Watford Kick Off – Space For At Least One New Addition

After a long and strange old summer, Aston Villa will finally get their 2021/22 Premier League campaign up and running within the next hour and a bit as we open the curtain against Watford down at Vicarage Road.

Three points would be a perfect start for head coach Dean Smith as we prepare for life without Jack Grealish and of course, we want to come back with Graham Taylor bragging rights as both sides honour him ahead of kick off.

With most shirt numbers known for the coming campaign, our two most recent signings – Leon Bailey and Axel Tuanzebe – have now had their shirt numbers confirmed, and Bailey takes No 31 (his regular at other clubs) which sees Carney Chukwuemeka move to No 33, whilst Tuanzebe picks up the No 16 shirt.

In terms of youngsters handed shirt numbers, there are some very familiar names in there and when we cycle around to the Cup competitions, I think our chances of seeing them on occasions would be quite high. As is more normal these days in football, there are no great hints about further potential incomings as there are no obvious numbers missing – but that won’t stop the speculation or fans hoping for one or two more.

But there is space for two more signings (one if Trez comes back into contention for January) when you look at the list from a 25 Man PL Squad standpoint (will be announced after the window closes).

It’s going to be an interesting year, and three points today would be the ideal way to start.

1 Emiliano Martínez
2 Matty Cash
3 Matt Targett
4 Ezri Konsa
5 Tyrone Mings
6 Douglas Luiz
7 John McGinn
8 Morgan Sanson
9 Wesley
10 Emiliano Buendía
11 Ollie Watkins
12 Jed Steer
14 Conor Hourihane
15 Bertrand Traore
16 Axel Tuanzebe

17 Trezeguet
18 Ashley Young
19 Marvelous Nakamba
20 Danny Ings
21 Anwar El Ghazi
24 Frederic Guilbert
30 Kortney Hause
31 Leon Bailey

32 Jaden Philogene-Bidace
33 Carney Chukwuemeka
34 Tyreik Wright
36 Lamare Bogarde
37 Mungo Bridge
38 Viljami Sinisalo
39 Keinan Davis
40 Aaron Ramsey
41 Jacob Ramsey
42 Arjan Raikhy
43 Brad Young
44 Filip Marschall
45 Ben Chrisene
48 Oliwier Zych







1 of 12

In the Old Trafford clash with Manchester United back in the inaugural Prem campaign, Steve Staunton opened the scoring – but how?

Share this article