Date: 3rd April 2018 at 9:15pm
Written by:

Earlier today the shortlists for the EFL Awards 2018 were released and Aston Villa feature!

Awards will be distributed between 12 categories at the ceremony on Sunday April 15 at the London Hilton on Park Lane in recognition of the season of 2017/18.

The full shortlists for anybody interested can be found on the following link – Click Here.

Sitting in fourth place in the Championship table as I type this, Villa certainly don’t dominate the shortlists but we do feature in the Championship Team of the Season.

John Ruddy – Wolverhampton Wanderers

Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham
Conor Coady – Wolverhampton Wanderers
John Terry – Aston Villa
Ryan Fredericks – Fulham

Tom Cairney – Fulham
Ruben Neves – Wolverhampton Wanderers
James Maddison – Norwich City

Matej Vydra – Derby County
Bobby Reid – Bristol City
Albert Adomah – Aston Villa

Manager – Neil Warnock – Cardiff City

With 13 assists to his name so far quite why Robert Snodgrass doesn’t feature is beyond me, but congratulations to Terry and Adomah for breaking through the Fulham obsession.

Although to be fair, the EFL do state that loan players cannot be eligible but I don’t see why that has to be the case.

With some categories still to be announced on the night, Aston Villa may or may not have further contenders up for a gong this year.

For those who want to read the Twitter reactions, Cardiff City seem to be having a mini meltdown that Terry features and none of their players do…makes quite a fun read!

Click for the forum

Comments are closed.